You Didn’t Get That $500 Bonus?

Neither did I. Let’s talk.

Ramona Grigg
4 min readMay 7, 2021
Photo by Pepi Stojanovski on Unsplash

I spent most of the day at the hospital yesterday, waiting while my husband had a procedure that would tell us whether or not there was any recurring bladder cancer. There wasn’t.

Breathe! Celebrate! Whew!

After we settled in at home, relieved but exhausted, I went to Facebook to see what was new, especially in the Medium Binders, and was floored by the news. One by one, many of my Medium friends were rejoicing over unexpected bonuses they’d received from Medium, to the tune of $500. Five hundred dollars. Out of nowhere. Incredible!

I was happy for them. (And still am. Read on.) Some of them really needed the money, but all of them needed the boost. We’ve been going through some strange times here at Medium and nobody knows for sure what it means or where we stand.

So I went looking for mine. It wasn’t there. What?

What?? Seriously, Medium, you’re ignoring me AGAIN? Hellooo…!

We spent some time in the Facebook binders trying to figure out why some got it and some didn’t, and it was awkward, to be honest. All kinds of emotions flying around and the last thing I would ever want to do is rain on anyone’s parade — but it hurt not to be included. Then someone shared the email they’d received and…

--

--